Skip to main content Skip to footer

Honorary Fellows

Honorary Fellows 2023

Annually, the Coleg Cymraeg Cenedlaethol inaugurates three Honorary Fellows for their lifetime contribution towards post-compulsory Welsh-medium and bilingual education. The three are inaugurated as part of the  the Coleg Cymraeg's Annual Congregation.

Delyth Murphy

Delyth Murphy

A native of Carmarthenshire, Delyth Murphy spent decades on the staff at Bangor University, contributing to the field of Widening Access and Lifelong Learning, and later leading projects and strategic work in that field. She actively contributed to national developments in Welsh-medium education before the Coleg was established. In 2012, she was appointed Vice-Chair of the Coleg’s Academic Board, serving in that role for a decade throughout Dr Hefin Jones’ tenure as Dean of the Coleg. The fellowship is presented inrecognition of her lifelong commitment to improving the learner experience and to expanding learning opportunities for everyone, regardless of age and background.

Dr Haydn Edwards

Dr Haydn Edwards

Dr Haydn Edwards was Chair of the Coleg’s Board of Directors between 2017 and 2020. In that period, the Coleg’s responsibilities were expanded to include further education and apprenticeships, and a full review was undertaken of the Coleg’s composition and governance. After completing his doctorate at the University of Salford, he worked at universities in Britain and the United States, before becoming Chief Executive of Coleg Menai between 1994 and 2009, when the college’s provision was significantly expanded. He was also the author of Raising Our Sights, the review undertaken on behalf of the Welsh Government that led to the establishment of the National Centre for Learning Welsh in 2016. The fellowship is awarded for his contribution to the development of the Coleg Cymraeg but also to education and training in Wales.

Professor Sioned Davies

Professor Sioned Davies

Professor Sioned Davies was a member of staff at the School of Welsh at Cardiff University for over thirty years and was head of the School from the mid-1990s until her retirement in 2019. She is a pre-eminent expert on medieval Welsh literature and specifically the Mabinogi. The fellowship recognises her academic progress as well as her contribution over many years to the Welsh language and Welsh-medium education at Cardiff University and beyond. She was also one of the champions of the Language and Literature Panel, from its days within the University of Wales structure to its current home at the Coleg Cymraeg


Full list of Coleg Fellows


Dr Iolo ap Gwynn

Denise Williams

Ieuan Wyn


Catrin Dafydd  

Andrew Green 

Prof Deri Tomos


Gwerfyl Roberts

Prof Gareth Ff. Roberts


Prof Brynley F. Roberts

Prof R. Merfyn Jones

Dr Siân Wyn Siencyn 


Geraint Talfan Davies

Ned Thomas


Heini Gruffudd

Catrin Stevens


Dr Alison Allan

Cennard Davies 

Prof Elan Closs Stephens

Dr Cen Williams 


Prof Ioan Williams

Prof Robin Williams


Prof Hazel Walford Davies

Prof M. Wynn Thomas